Turkey Tacos

I devised this easy recipe while trying to give some of my favorite foods a healthy makeover. I have been replacing ground beef with ground turkey in a variety of recipes with much success. Ground turkey takes on the flavor of the spices you cook with making it very versatile. Please enjoy the recipe below.

Turkey Taco Meat

3lbs ground turkey
1 14.5oz can diced tomatoes (juice and all)
1 4oz can diced green chilies
1 6oz can Mexican spicy tomato sauce (I use El Pato sauce or you can use your favorite salsa)
1 1/2 tbsp chili powder
1 1/2 tbsp paprika
1 tbsp ground cumin
1 tablespoon dried oregano
½ tsp pepper
3 cloves fresh garlic

In a large non-stick skillet brown the ground turkey until fully cooked.
I mash my meat with a potato masher as I like it in small pieces (not necessary if you like your meat more chunky)
Add all ingredients and mix well.
Let simmer on low heat for ½ hour stirring frequently.

Enjoy with your favorite shells and toppings or make a super healthy taco salad. Toppings shown are: romaine lettuce (much more vitamins!), tomatoes, sour cream, three cheese blend (I was out of queso fresco which is my fave!)

El Pato sauce can be found at your local grocery store or online. I highly recommend it. I use it in place of salsa on almost everything. It ads great flavor and just enough bite without being too spicy. Look for it in the Mexican foods section of your local market or buy it online here: http://www.mexgrocer.com/1276.html

I gave the stand and stuff shells a try. They actually did stand so I could stuff them ha ha. I toasted them in the oven according to the box directions and they were nice and crisp. I used to fry my own shells.. but these are much lower in calories and they have no trans fats!

Enjoy and please let me know what you think. I know you will love it!

Blessings for the day!

Vanessa ♥

3 thoughts on “Turkey Tacos

Please leave a comment:

